Monday, October 9, 2017

Playlist & Giveaway: Gate of Air by Resa Nelson

Gate of Air
Resa Nelson
(Dragon Gods, #1)
Publication date: June 19th 2017
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Frayka must find and convince the dragon gods of the Far East to appease the gods of her Northland heritage. If she fails, her own Northlander gods will destroy all the mortals who once promised to worship them.
The Far East is a mysterious place of legend to Northlanders like Frayka. Only an old map can show her how to get there. Once she arrives, all of Frayka’s sensibilities put her in danger. And every dangerous turn delays her from finding the dragon gods whose help she so desperately needs.
Although Frayka looks like a Far Easterner, she is a powerful Northlander warrior who is quick to voice her thoughts. She is trained to fight and won’t hesitate to do so.
But everything about Frayka puts her in deadly peril in the Far East, where the laws are strict and the punishment cruel.
Especially when the one being punished is a woman.
99¢ for a limited time only!

Playlist for Gate of Air (Dragon Gods series) by Resa Nelson

1. Immigrant Song (Led Zeppelin) – I chose this song because the fantasy world I’ve created is inspired by the Norse/Viking era. The Northlander gods have tasked my heroine Frayka with finding the dragon gods of the Far East and convincing them to make amends for the harm they’ve caused her own gods.
2. Creep (Radiohead) – Because Northlanders have known the Far East only as a place of myth, Frayka is shocked when she arrives. Even though she has Far Eastern blood and looks like she belongs, she doesn’t.
3. Wake Me Up (Evanescence) – This song represents the characters in my novel -- who through no fault of their own – are lost inside the rules and laws of an oppressive civilization.
4. Rehab (Amy Winehouse) -- There’s no one in my novel who needs to go to rehab, but I selected this song because Frayka doesn’t hesitate to say no. She is strong willed and knows what she wants. May the gods help anyone who tries to stand in her way.
5. There’s Nothing Holding Me Back (Shawn Mendes) – This song is for Njall, Frayka’s sweetheart who walks and fights by her side. He sees her flaws as well as her strengths and loves her with his whole heart.
6. Shake It Off (Taylor Swift) – Frayka runs into problems that mortify and confound her. But she has to shake it off and keep moving toward her goal of finding the dragon gods.
7. The Climb (Miley Cyrus) – Throughout the Dragon Gods series, Frayka faces challenge after challenge. No matter how difficult things get, she has to keep moving toward her goal.
8. What About Us (Pink) – The Northlander gods demand a lot, and Frayka doesn’t anticipate the sacrifices she and Njall will make. Or how those sacrifices will change their relationship.
9. Fight Song (Rachel Platten) – Frayka’s journey through this four-book series changes her in ways she couldn’t have imagined. She will figure out how to take back her life – but it won’t be the life she’s known up until now.
10. Who Says You Can’t Go Home (Bon Jovi, Jennifer Nettles) – All Frayka wants is to go back home to her beloved Land of Ice. But at the end of her journey she rethinks what “home” really means to her.

Author Bio:
Resa Nelson is the author of the 4-book Dragonslayer series: The Dragonslayer’s Sword (nominated for the Nebula Award, finalist for the EPPIE Award), The Iron Maiden , The Stone of Darkness , and The Dragon's Egg . Her 4-book Dragonfly series takes place after the Dragonslayer series.
Her standalone novels include the mystery/thrillers All Of Us Were Sophie and Our Lady of the Absolute .
Resa has been selling short stories professionally since 1988. She is a longtime member of SFWA (Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America), and she is a graduate of the Clarion SF Workshop. Resa was the TV/Movie Columnist for Realms of Fantasy magazine for 13 years as well as a regular contributor to SCI FI magazine. She has sold over 200 articles to magazines in the United States and the United Kingdom.


1 comment: