Monday, November 11, 2013

Review: Mystic City by Theo Lawrence

Mystic City (Mystic City, #1)
Cover Source: GoodReads
Title: Mystic City
Author: Theo Lawrence
Series: Mystic City #1
Version Reviewed: ARC, eBook

GoodReads Summary:
For fans of Matched, The Hunger Games, X-Men, and Blade Runner comes a tale of a magical city divided, a political rebellion ignited, and a love that was meant to last forever. Book One of the Mystic City Novels.
Aria Rose, youngest scion of one of Mystic City's two ruling rival families, finds herself betrothed to Thomas Foster, the son of her parents' sworn enemies. The union of the two will end the generations-long political feud—and unite all those living in the Aeries, the privileged upper reaches of the city, against the banished mystics who dwell below in the Depths. But Aria doesn't remember falling in love with Thomas; in fact, she wakes one day with huge gaps in her memory. And she can't conceive why her parents would have agreed to unite with the Fosters in the first place. Only when Aria meets Hunter, a gorgeous rebel mystic from the Depths, does she start to have glimmers of recollection—and to understand that he holds the key to unlocking her past. The choices she makes can save or doom the city—including herself.
When I first began reading this book, I could not, for the life of me, remember what it was about. So I was going into it blind. I was sucked into it in no time.

The book has a Romeo and Juliet quality to it. There is a big emphasis on love in the story, but it's done in a way that keeps you interested and wondering how everything will work out.

The only thing I didn't like was that one of the big "mysteries" in the book was really easy to figure out. For me, anyway.

I really enjoyed the book though and it's one that I could see as a really cool, futuristic action movie.

Favorite Character: Hunter & Turk.
Rating: 4 Stars.
 photo blue4.png
*This book was provided for free by the publisher for review.

post signature

No comments:

Post a Comment